Jury

The first jury for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 consists of directors and curators active in the realm of contemporary art and is selected by Berlin’s Nationalgalerie and Freunde der Nationalgalerie. In addition, two members of the Deutsche Filmakademie are selected as member of the first jury.

The first jury will meet in February 2017 to select four artists from the candidates of the long list for the short list of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017. The short list will be announced in March 2017.

In July 2017, the first jury will convene once again to decide the winner of the Förderpreises für Filmkunst (Award for Cinematography), which will be awarded at the award ceremony in October 2017.

A second jury, consisting of internationally renowned directors and curators of contemporary art, will be announced at a reception of Berlin’s Nationalgalerie held at the opening of the Venice Biennale. It will also be selected by the Nationalgalerie together with Freunde der Nationalgalerie.

After the opening of the short list exhibition in September 2017, the second jury will meet to choose the award winner from the four artists nominated: the winner of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 will then be announced at the award ceremony.

For more on the procedure of the Preis der Nationalgalerie here

Second Jury

Zdenka_Badovinac-768x1024

Photo: Igor Zaplatil

Zdenka Badovinac is a curator and writer, who has served since 1993 as Director of the Moderna galerija in Ljubljana, comprised since 2011 of two locations: the Museum of Modern Art and the Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova. In her work, Badovinac highlights the difficult processes of redefining history alongside different avant-garde traditions within contemporary art. Badovinac’s first exhibition to address these issues was Body and the East – From the 1960s to the Present (1998). She also initiated the first Eastern European art collection, Arteast 2000+. One of her most important recent projects is NSK from Kapital to Capital: Neue Slowenische Kunst – The Event of the Final Decade of Yugoslavia, Moderna galerija, 2015. Badovinac was Slovenian Commissioner at the Venice Biennale from 1993 to 1997 and 2005 and Austrian Commissioner at the Sao Paulo Biennial in 2002 and the President of CIMAM, 2010-13.

Sven_Beckstette-768x1024

Photo: Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Sven Beckstette is a research associate at Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin. He studied art history, German philology and modern and recent history in Münster and Berlin and was awarded his doctorate in 2008 with a thesis on “History Painting in the Twentieth Century”. From 2009-10 he was a research assistant at Lenbachhaus, Munich. From 2010-2012 he was editor-in-chief of the Berlin art magazine “Texte zur Kunst”, and still has a seat on its advisory board. From 2012-16 he was curator at the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart. He has been a curator at the Nationalgalerie since November 2016.
Last exhibitions (selection): Dieter Roth. Balle balle Knalle (2014/15); I Got Rhythm. Kunst und Jazz seit 1920 (2015/16); Amie Siegel. Part 2. Ricochet (2016).

Hou_Hanru-768x1024

Photo: Musacchio Ianniello, courtesy Fondazione MAXXI

Hou Hanru is a prolific writer and curator based in Rome, Paris and San Francisco. He is currently the Artistic Director of MAXXI (National Museum for 21st Century Art and National Museum of Architecture), Rome, Italy. He has curated and co-curated around 100 exhibitions for the last two decades across the world including: China/Avant-Garde (National Museum of Art of China, Beijing, 1989), Cities On The Move (1997-2000), Shanghai Biennale (2000), Venice Biennale (French Pavilion, 1999, Chinese Pavilion, 2007), the 2nd Guangzhou Triennial (2005), the 10th Istanbul Biennial (2007), the 10th Biennale de Lyon (2009). Open Museum Open City (MAXXI, Rome, 2014), Istanbul, Passion, Joy, Fury (MAXXI, Rome, 2015). He is a consultant for numerous cultural institutions. He frequently contributes to various journals on contemporary art and culture and lectures and teaches in numerous international institutions.

Udo-Kittelmann-2016-©SPK-SMB-Berlin-Foto-Juliane-Eirich-768x1024

Photo: Juliane Eirich

Udo Kittelmann has been director of the Nationalgalerie, a division of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, since 2008. From 1994 until 2001 he was director of the Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne. He was appointed to direct the German pavilion at the 2001 Venice Biennale and presented Gregor Schneider’s Totes Haus u r, which won the Golden Lion. From 2002 until 2008, Kittelmann led the Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt am Main. In 2013, he was curator of the Russian pavilion at the Venice Biennale, presenting Vadim Zakharov’s project Danaë. Kittelmann has curated numerous exhibitions in Germany and abroad and written widely on contemporary art.

Sheena_Wagstaff-768x1024

Photo: Daniel Dorsa

Sheena Wagstaff leads The Met’s work in Modern and Contemporary Art both at The Met Breuer and The Met Fifth Avenue. Wagstaff initiates and directs the Met Breuer’s international exhibition program, with a core program strand combining ancient and modern art – by taking its cue from the scope of The Met’s global collections. She is also responsible for building and expanding the collection culturally and geographically, working with a team of curators with deep trans-cultural expertise in 20th and 21st century art. Prior to The Met, Wagstaff was Chief Curator of Tate Modern and has also held positions at Tate Britain; The Frick Art Museum, Pittsburgh; the Whitechapel Art Gallery, London; and the Museum of Modern Art, Oxford. In addition to personally curating many exhibitions, she has overseen the curatorial direction of over 50 exhibitions.

First Jury

Meret_Becker_Foto_Joachim_Gern-683x1024

Photo: Joachim Gern

Meret Becker is an artist of many faces: actress, composer, singer, producer. In the early 1990s, she first became known to the general film public with Sönke Wortmann’s Kleine Haie. She won the Grimme-Preis as best young actress in 1991 for Fremde Liebe Fremde. In 1993, she was awarded the Bayerischer Filmpreis for her roles in Margarethe von Trotta’s Das Versprechen and in Dominik Graf’s Die Sieger. For Comedian Harmonists she won the Deutscher Filmpreis and the Goldene Kamera in 1997. That same year, she was a member of the star ensemble of Helmut Dietl’s Rossini. Her most famous films include Pünktchen und Anton (1998), Komm Näher (2006), Boxhagener Platz (2010), and Feuchtgebiete (2013). Meret Becker is constantly appearing before the camera for film and television. Since 2014, she has been playing Inspector Nina Rubin alongside Mark Waschke for the German TV series Tatort. On stage, she has performed in legendary productions like Im Weißen Rössl (1994), Sid and Nancy (1995), Die Sieben Todsünden directed by Pina Bausch, and Pierrot Lunaire under the direction of Kent Nagano, and currently works as a member of the ensemble at Berliner Ensemble with director Claus Peymann. As a singer and musician, she has been performing for 25 years before national and international audiences and has recorded several CDs. In the fall of 2012, she was awarded the Bundesverdienstkreuz by President Gauck for “extraordinary artistic and social commitment.”

Alexander_Beyer_Foto_Dorothee_Falke-683x1024

Photo: Dorothee Falke

After completing high school, Alexander Beyer studied at Berlin’s Schauspielschule Ernst Busch. In 1997, he premiered in Frank Beyer’s version of Der Hauptmann von Köpenick. To German film audiences, Beyer became well known as the best friend of the dreamer Micha in Leander Haußmann’s comedy Sonnenallee (1999). Later, he was featured in several films that dealt with the GDR, East Berlin, and eastern Germany after unification, like Volker Schlöndorff’s Die Stille nach dem Schuss (2000), the eccentric drama Maria am Wasser by Thomas Wendrich (2009), and Wolfgang Becker’s tragicomedy Goodbye, Lenin! (2003). After numerous additional roles in film and television, Alexander Beyer had his international breakthrough in 2007 when he took on one of the leading roles in Robert Dornhelm’s four-part TV adaptation of Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace. He gathered international experience working on Alexander Buravsky’s world war epic Leningrad (2009) and Spike Lee’s war film Miracle at St. Anna (2008). Recently, he gained international acclaim for his role as “GDR sleeper” Tobias Tischbier in the internationally and domestically celebrated TV series Deutschland 83 (2015) and starred in the TV trilogy Mitten in Deutschland: NSU (2016). His last role on the big screen was in Burg Schreckenstein (2016).

Natasha_Ginwala_Foto_Mark-Blower-683x1024

Photo: Mark Blower

Natasha Ginwala is a curator, researcher, and writer. She is curator of Contour Biennale 8 and curatorial advisor for documenta 14 (2017). Recent projects include My East Is Your West featuring Shilpa Gupta and Rashid Rana at the 56th Venice Biennale; Still Against the Sky at KW Institute for Contemporary Art, Berlin, and Corruption: Everybody Knows… with e-flux, New York within the framework of the SUPERCOMMUNITY project. She was a member of the artistic team for the 8th Berlin Biennale for Contemporary Art (with Juan A. Gaitán) and curated The Museum of Rhythm at Taipei Biennial 2012 (with Anselm Franke) and at Muzeum Sztuki 2016–2017 (with Daniel Muzyczuk). Ginwala writes on contemporary art and visual culture in various periodicals and has contributed to numerous publications.

Alice_Motard_Foto_Alain-Bublex-683x1024

Photo: Alain Bublex

Alice Motard is Chief Curator at CAPC musée d’art contemporain in Bordeaux. She worked as the Deputy Director and Exhibitions Organiser of Raven Row in London from 2008 to 2013, where among others, she curated the group exhibition Unto This Last (2010), and co-curated The Stuff That Matters (2012), the first exhibition of the collection of historic textiles assembled by Seth Siegelaub, and the first posthumous retrospective of the work of the Czech artist Běla Kolářová (2013). From 2014 to 2016, whe was Curator at Spike Island in Bristol, where she curated an off-site project by Gareth Moore and the first solo exhibitions in a public art gallery in the UK by Anna Franceschini, Isabelle Cornaro, Reto Pulfer, Michael Beutler and Xavier Antin. She holds MAs in Curating Contemporary Art from the Royal College of Art in London and in Art History from the Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne/Freie Universität Berlin.

Alya_Sebti_Foto_Victoria-Tomaschko-683x1024

Photo: Victoria Tomaschko

Alya Sebti is head of ifa-Galerie Berlin, Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen. She has curated several exhibitions in Europe and North Africa and was the artistic director for the 5th edition of the Marrakech Biennale (2014) before conceiving for Mons European Capital of Culture in 2015 the exhibition Casablanca, black energy. She recently curated exhibitions include: Solo show of Hicham Berrada (Wentrup Gallery, Berlin, 2015); Carrefour / Treffpunkt (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen, ifa-gallery Stuttgart, Berlin, 2015); Now eat my script with Mounira Al Solh (KW, Berlin, 2015); Equilibres / Ausgleich with Hicham Berrada and Felix Kiessling (Wentrup Gallery, Berlin, 2014); Of Other Spaces (Public space Morocco / Netherlands, 2013); You never left with Youssef Nabil (Casablanca, 2011); Reza Aramesh /Shadi Ghadirian (Rabat, 2010). From 2012 to 2014, she created a cycle of online exhibitions and publications on contemporary art in Morocco, Algeria, and Tunisia with Arte East. In 2016, she teaches On Curating, translating the polyphony of Voices at the Salzburg International Academy. She is board member of the International Biennale Association.

Jury

Die erste Jury für den Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 setzt sich aus Direktoren und Kuratoren zusammen, die im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst tätig sind, und wird von der Nationalgalerie und den Freunde der Nationalgalerie gewählt. Zudem gehören auch stets zwei Mitglieder der Deutschen Filmakademie der ersten Jury an.

Diese erste Jury kam im Februar 2017 zusammen, um aus den vorgeschlagenen Kandidaten zunächst vier Künstlerinnen und Künstler für den Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 auszuwählen. Die vier nominierten Künstlerinnen Sol Calero, Iman Issa, Jumana Manna und Agnieszka Polska wurden am 9. März 2017 bekannt gegeben.

Im Juli 2017 kommt die erste Jury noch einmal zusammen und entscheidet über den Gewinner des Förderpreises für Filmkunst, der im Zuge der Preisverleihung am 20. Oktober 2017 bekannt gegeben wird.

Die zweite Jury, bestehend aus international bedeutenden Direktoren und Kuratoren der zeitgenössischen Kunst wurde im Mai 2017 bekannt gegeben. Sie wird ebenfalls von der Nationalgalerie gemeinsam mit den Freunden der Nationalgalerie gewählt.

Nach Eröffnung der Shortlist-Ausstellung im September 2017 kommt diese zweite Jury zusammen, um aus den vier nominierten Künstlern den Preisträger auszuwählen und als Gewinner des Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017 in einer feierlichen Zeremonie bekannt zu geben.

Mehr zum Procedere des Preis der Nationalgalerie erfahren Sie hier

Zweite Jury

Zdenka_Badovinac-768x1024

Foto: Igor Zaplatil

Zdenka Badovinac ist Kuratorin und Schriftstellerin, seit 1993 ist sie als Direktorin der Moderna galerija in Ljubljana tätig, die 2011 auch das Museum of Modern Art und das Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova einschließt. In ihrer Arbeit hebt Badovinac die schwierigen Prozesse der Neudefinition von Geschichte sowie verschiedene Avantgarde-Traditionen in der zeitgenössischen Kunst hervor. Die erste Ausstellung von Badovinac,  die diese Fragen adressierte, war Body and the East – From the 1960s to the Present (1998). Badovinac initiierte zudem die erste osteuropäische Kunstsammlung, Arteast 2000+. Eines ihrer wichtigsten jüngeren Projekte ist NSK from Kapital to Capital: Neue Slowenische Kunst – The Event of the Final Decade of Yugoslavia (2015) in der Moderna galerija. Badovinac war slowenische Kommissarin auf der Biennale von Venedig von 1993 bis 1997 sowie 2005, und österreichische Kommissarin der Sao Paulo Biennale im Jahr 2002 sowie Präsidentin des CIMAM von 2010 bis 2013.

Sven_Beckstette-768x1024

Foto: Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Sven Beckstette ist Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter der Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin. Er studierte Kunstgeschichte, Deutsche Philologie und neue und neueste Geschichte in Münster und Berlin und wurde 2008 mit einer Arbeit zum „Historienbild im 20. Jahrhundert“ promoviert. Von 2009/10 war er wissenschaftlicher Assistent am Lenbachhaus, München. Von 2010-12 war er Leitender Redakteur des Berliner Kunstmagazins „Texte zur Kunst“, dessen Beirat er seitdem angehört. Von 2012-16 war er Kurator am Kunstmuseum Stuttgart. Seit November 2016 ist er Kurator an der Nationalgalerie.
Letzte Ausstellungen (Auswahl): Dieter Roth. Balle balle Knalle (2014/15); I Got Rhythm. Kunst und Jazz seit 1920 (2015/16); Amie Siegel. Part 2. Ricochet (2016).

Hou_Hanru-768x1024

Foto: Musacchio Ianniello, courtesy Fondazione MAXXI

Hou Hanru ist Schriftsteller und Kurator. Er lebt in Rom, Paris und San Francisco. Hanru ist derzeit künstlerischer Leiter des MAXXI (Nationales Museum der Künste des XXI. Jahrhunderts), Rom, Italien. Er hat in den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten rund 100 Ausstellungen auf der ganzen Welt kuratiert, darunter: China/Avant-Garde (National Museum of Art of China, Beijing, 1989), Cities On The Move (1997-2000), Shanghai Biennale (2000), Venedig Biennale (Französischer Pavillon, 1999, Chinesischer Pavillon, 2007), die 2. Guangzhou Triennial (2005), die 10. Istanbul Bienniale (2007), die 10. Biennale de Lyon (2009), Open Museum Open City (MAXXI, Rom, 2014) und Istanbul, Passion, Joy, Fury (MAXXI, Rom, 2015). Hou Hanru ist Berater für zahlreiche Kulturinstitutionen. Er schreibt für verschiedene Zeitschriften über zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur und hält Vorträge und unterrichtet an zahlreichen internationalen Institutionen.

Udo-Kittelmann-2016-©SPK-SMB-Berlin-Foto-Juliane-Eirich-768x1024

Foto: Juliane Eirich

Udo Kittelmann ist seit 2008 Direktor der Nationalgalerie der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin. 1994 bis 2001 war er als Direktor des Kölnischen Kunstvereins tätig. 2001 wurde er zum Kommissar des deutschen Pavillons der Biennale in Venedig berufen: Die dort gezeigte Ausstellung von Gregor Schneiders Totes Haus u r gewann den Goldenen Löwen. Kittelmann leitete von 2002 bis 2008 das Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt am Main. 2013 war er Kurator des russischen Pavillons auf der Biennale in Venedig und präsentierte dort das Projekt Danaë von Vadim Zakharov. Kittelmann ist Kurator vieler Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland und Autor zahlreicher Veröffentlichungen zur zeitgenössischen Kunst.

Sheena_Wagstaff-768x1024

Foto: Daniel Dorsa

Sheena Wagstaff leitet die Abteilung für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst am Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York , sowohl am Met Breuer als auch am Met Fifth Avenue. Sie initiiert und betreut das internationale Ausstellungsprogramm am Met Breuer mit einem Fokus auf der Zusammenführung von Alter und moderner Kunst – hierbei ist die globale Sammlung des Met Stichwortgeber. Wagstaff ist zudem verantwortlich für den Sammlungsaufbau sowie zusammen mit einem Kuratorenteam aus Experten für die kulturelle und geografische Erweiterung der Sammlung des Met in transkulturellen Fragen und in der Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Vor ihrer Arbeit am Met war Wagstaff Chefkuratorin an der Tate Modern in London und bekleidete zudem Positionen an der Tate Britain, dem Frick Art Museum, Pittsburgh, der Whitechapel Art Gallery, London, und dem Museum of Modern Art, Oxford. Darüber hinaus kuratierte sie über 50 Ausstellungen.

Erste Jury

Meret_Becker_Foto_Joachim_Gern-683x1024

Foto: Joachim Gern

Meret Becker ist eine Künstlerin mit vielen Gesichtern: Schauspielerin, Komponistin, Sängerin, Produzentin. Anfang der 1990er Jahre wurde sie dem breiten Kinopublikum mit Sönke Wortmanns “Kleine Haie” bekannt. Den Grimme-Preis als Beste Nachwuchsdarstellerin bekam sie 1991 für “Fremde Liebe Fremde” verliehen.  Im Jahr 1993 erhielt sie für ihre Rollen in Margarethe von Trottas “Das Versprechen” und in Dominik Grafs “Die Sieger” den Bayerischen Filmpreis.  Für “Comedian Harmonists” bekam sie 1997 den Deutschen Filmpreis und die Goldene Kamera. Im gleichen Jahr zählte sie zum Starensemble von Helmut Dietls “Rossini”. Zu ihren bekannten Kinofilmen zählen des weiteren “Pünktchen und Anton” (1998), “Komm näher” (2006), “Boxhagener Platz” (2010) und “Feuchtgebiete” (2013). Meret Becker steht konstant für Film und Fernsehen vor der Kamera. Seit 2014 ermittelt sie als „Nina Rubin“, an der der Seite von Mark Waschke, den Berliner Tatort. Auf der Bühne spielte sie in den legendären Inzenierungen “Im Weißen Rössl” 1994, “Sid & Nancy” 1995, “Die sieben Todsünden” unter der Regie von Pina Bausch, sie gab den “Pierrot Lunaire” unter der Leitung von Kent Nagano und spielt derzeit unter der Regie von Claus Peymann am Berliner Ensemble. Als Sängerin und Musikerin steht sie seit gut 25 Jahren vor nationalem und internationalem Publikum auf der Bühne und hat diverse CDs veröffentlicht. Im Herbst 2012 erhielt sie aus der Hand von Bundespräsident Gauck „für besonderes künstlerisches und gesellschaftliches Engagement“ das Bundesverdienstkreuz.

Alexander_Beyer_Foto_Dorothee_Falke-683x1024

Foto: Dorothee Falke

Alexander Beyer studierte nach dem Abitur an der Schauspielschule Ernst Busch. 1997 debütierte er in Frank Beyers Version von „Der Hauptmann von Köpenick“.
Dem deutschen Publikum wurde Beyer als bester Freund des Träumers Micha in Leander Haußmanns Komödie „Sonnenallee“ (1999) bekannt. Seither hat er in mehreren Filmen, die die DDR, Ost-Berlin und Ostdeutschland thematisieren, mitgewirkt, etwa in Volker Schlöndorffs „Die Stille nach dem Schuss“ (2000), dem skurrilen Drama „Maria am Wasser“ von Thomas Wendrich (2009) und in Wolfgang Beckers Tragikomödie „Goodbye, Lenin!“ (2003). Nach zahlreichen weiteren Kinorollen und Fernsehauftritten gelang Alexander Beyer auch international der Durchbruch, als er 2007 eine der drei Hauptrollen in Robert Dornhelms vierteiliger TV-Verfilmung von Leo Tolstois „Krieg und Frieden“ übernahm. Internationale Erfahrung sammelte er in Alexander Buravskys Weltkrieg-Epos „Leningrad“ (2009) sowie in Spike Lees Kriegsfilm „Miracle at St. Anna“ (2008). Zuletzt sorgte er mit seiner Rolle  als „DDR-Schläfer“ Tobias Tischbier in der international und national gefeierten TV-Serie „Deutschland 83“ (2015) für Aufmerksamkeit und war in der TV-Trilogie „Mitten in Deutschland: NSU“ (2016) zu sehen. In „Burg Schreckenstein“ war er 2016 zuletzt auf der Kinoleinwand zu sehen.

Natasha_Ginwala_Foto_Mark-Blower-683x1024

Foto: Mark Blower

Natasha Ginwala ist Kuratorin, Wissenschaftlerin und Autorin. Zurzeit ist sie als Kuratorin der Contour Biennale 8 und kuratorische Beraterin für die documenta 14 (2017) tätig. Zu aktuelleren Projekten zählen My East Is Your West mit Shilpa Gupta und Rashid Rana auf der 56. Biennale von Venedig, Still Against the Sky im KW Institut für zeitgenössische Kunst in Berlin und Corruption: Everybody Knows… mit e-flux, New York im Rahmen des SUPERCOMMUNITY-Projekts. Sie war Mitglied des künstlerischen Teams der 8. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst (mit Juan A. Gaitán) und kuratierte The Museum of Rhythm auf der Taipei Biennale 2012 (mit Anselm Franke) und am Muzeum Sztuki 2016–2017 (mit Daniel Muzyczuk). Ginwala schreibt über zeitgenössische Kunst und visueller Kultur in diversen Fachzeitschriften und hat zu zahlreichen Publikationen beigetragen.

Alice_Motard_Foto_Alain-Bublex-683x1024

Foto: Alain Bublex

Alice Motard ist Chefkuratorin am CAPC Musée d’Art Contemporain in Bordeaux. Sie arbeitete von 2008 bis 2013 als stellvertretende Direktorin und Ausstellungsleiterin bei Raven Row in London, wo sie unter anderem die Gruppenausstellung Unto This Last (2010) kuratierte sowie The Stuff That Matters (2012), die erstmalige Ausstellung der historischen Textil-Sammlung von Seth Siegelaub, und die erste posthume Retrospektive des Werkes des tschechischen Künstlers Běla Kolářová (2013) co-kuratierte. Von 2014 bis 2016 war sie Kuratorin bei Spike Island in Bristol, wo sie ein Off-Site Projekt von Gareth Moore und die ersten Einzelausstellungen von Anna Franceschini, Isabelle Cornaro, Reto Pulfer, Michael Beutler und Xavier Antin in einem öffentlichen Ausstellungsraum im Vereinigten Königreich realisierte. Sie hat einen Master in Curating Contemporary Art vom Royal College of Art in London und einen Master in Kunstgeschichte von der Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne/Freie Universität Berlin.

Alya_Sebti_Foto_Victoria-Tomaschko-683x1024

Foto: Victoria Tomaschko

Alya Sebti ist seit April 2016 Leiterin der ifa-Galerie Berlin. Sie hatte die künstlerische Leitung für die 5. Marrakech Biennale 2014 inne und ist ein Vorstandsmitglied der Internationalen Biennale Association. Jüngst kuratierte sie unter anderem die Ausstellungen Caverne mit Hicham Berrada (Wentrup Galerie, Berlin, 2015), Carrefour / Treffpunkt (ifa-Galerien Stuttgart und Berlin, 2015), Casablanca, black energy (Le Manège, Mons, 2015), Now eat my script: Mounira Al Solh (KW, Berlin, 2015), You never left: Youssef Nabil (Galerie HD, Casablanca, 2011) und Reza Aramesh / Shadi Ghadirian (Rabat, 2010). Von 2012 bis 2014 initiierte sie eine Reihe von Online-Ausstellungen mit Arte East über zeitgenössische Kunst in Marokko, Algerien und Tunesien. Sie schrieb und lehrte über Kunst und öffentlicher Raum, Biennalen und transkulturelle Kunst-Praktiken.