Twelve experts who work in the field of contemporary art and are deeply familiar with the art scene in Germany were invited to nominate candidates for the Preis der Nationalgalerie. The curators of the Hamburger Bahnhof also submitted nominations, as did the members of the Freunde der Nationalgalerie.


The following criteria applied:

– Artists could cannot be more than 40 years old at the time of their nomination.

– Artists from all nations who currently live and work in Germany were eligible.

Artists who had been shortlisted for the prize in the past or who had already received a prize were excluded from participation:

The nominators for the 2024 prize:

Sarah Alberti (journalist and art historian, Leipzig), Carina Bukuts (Curator of Portikus, Frankfurt am Main), Övül Ö. Durmusoglu (Curator, and Professor at HBK Braunschweig), Ines Goldbach (Director of Kunsthaus Baselland), Anna Gritz (Director of Haus am Waldsee), Johan Holten (Director of Kunsthalle Mannheim), Kornelia Röder (Head of Department at Staatliches Museum Schwerin), Alya Sebti (Director of ifa-Galerie Berlin), Nina Tabassomi (Director of TAXISPALAIS Kunsthalle Tirol, Innsbruck), Anne Vieth (Curator of the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart), Silke Wagler (Head of the Kunstfonds, Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden), Moritz Wesseler (Director of the Fridericianum Kassel).


The members of the jury for the 2024 prize:

Cecilia Alemani (Director and Chief Curator of High Line Art, New York), Elvira Dyangani Ose (Director of the MACBA, Barcelona), Kasia Redzisz (Artistic Director of KANAL – Centre Pompidou, Brussels), Jochen Volz (Director General of the Pinacoteca do Estado, São Paulo) Gabriele Knapstein (Acting Director and Head of the Collection, Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin) Sam Bardaouil (Co-Director of the Hamburger Bahnhof),