In the fall of 2021 the Preis der Nationalgalerie will be awarded for the eleventh time. Since 2000, the Preis honours important young positions in international contemporary art which reflect the international and lively nature of the German art scene and have already gained recognition for their innovative approaches.

Since 2013, the Preis der Nationalgalerie is no longer associated with prize money, but with a solo exhibition at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin and an accompanying publication in the following yearThis solo exhibition takes place in the year following the announcement of the award.


The nominated artists for Preis der Nationalgalerie 2000: Christian Jankowski, Katharina Grosse, Dirk Skreber and Olafur Eliasson