2024 marks the first year in which the Preis der Nationalgalerie is awarded to four artists: Pan Daijing, Dan Lie, Hanne Lippard and James Richards

Pan Daijing, Dan Lie, Hanne Lippard and James Richards are awarded the Preis der Nationalgalerie, which, in 2024, is going to four artists for the first time. The new format of the prize takes up the idea of the exhibition as a collective exchange and aims to expand the collection through the purchase of four new pieces. The prize winners will produce four new works to be shown in a joint exhibi- tion at the Hamburger Bahnhof from April to September 2024.

The jury for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2024 is composed of four inter- national directors of collecting institutions: Cecilia Alemani (Director and Chief Curator of High Line Art, New York), Elvira Dyangani Ose (Director of the MACBA, Barcelona), Kasia Redzisz (Artistic Director of KANAL – Centre Pompidou, Brussels) and Jochen Volz (Director General of the Pinacoteca do Estado, São Paulo) as well as Sam Bardaouil and Till Fellrath (Directors of the Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin) and Gabriele Knapstein (Acting Director and Head of the Collection, Hamburger Bahnhof, Berlin).