Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2011

Award Winner

Preis-2011_DvB_01-713x1024

Photo: David von Becker

Cyprien Gaillard

(born 1980 in Paris, lives and works in Berlin)

Jury’s statement:

Cyprien Gaillard’s film Artefacts is an impressive reflection on the myth of Babylon, which by way of the reference to the war in Iraq has become especially topical. The powerful, captivating images are consciously cut into one another, resulting in a hyper-nervous, virtually hypnotic impact that draws our attention to our own cultural sensitivities. Cyprien Gaillard does not follow a documentary approach, but rather raises questions about the current state and maintenance of our cultures using the open principle of montage. The film focuses on the erosion of artifacts. The strong aesthetic form he has chosen is linked to the desire to find a tone and language that stands beyond all conventional reporting in the media and that opens other emotional spaces for our perception. Cyprien Gaillard has created a work of suggestive images where the political is inseparably linked from the cultural.

Shortlist Artists

PNG11_CG-Norman_Zoo-01-832x1024

Photo: Norman Zoo
PNG11_KL_Portrait-832x1024

Klara Liden, Self Portrait with Keys to the City, 2005 | Courtesy the artist and Reena Spaulings Fine Art, New York
PNG11_KK-Portrait2-groß-832x1024

Photo: Gregor Hohenberg
AW_NationalPortrait_photoby_Ketuta-Alexi-Meskhishvili--832x1024

Photo: Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili | Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York

Cyprien Gaillard

Klara Lidén

Kitty Kraus

Andro Wekua

Shortlist Exhibition

September 9, 2011 – January 8, 2012
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

PNG11_CG_The-road-to-Akuf-1024x576

Cyprien Gaillard, Artefact, 2011 | © Cyprien Gaillard/Courtesy Sprüth Magers Berlin London
PNG11_CG_DervishGate

Cyprien Gaillard, Artefact, 2011 | © Cyprien Gaillard/Courtesy Sprüth Magers Berlin London

Disintegration and decay follow from every cultural transformation, for every such upheaval is associated with a departure from the past. Cyprien Gaillard has highlighted this nexus in his photographs, films, and collages produced to date with reference to a number of different cultures which are today experiencing massive change, and hence equally striking manifestations of disintegration. It is no coincidence that he turns now in his latest film – produced for the Preis der Nationalgalerie – to the city of Babylon, which is to say: the oldest city of mankind whose disintegration has lasted already for millennia, and whose authentic relics are distributed among a number of great museums throughout the world. Filmic images of the historic Ishtar Gate in Berlin are intimately associated with shots taken on location in Iraq, a country that has been profoundly marked by war. In his images, the artist deliberately avoids making distinctions between abandoned cultic sites in the desert and new buildings or construction sites in contemporary Iraq. From his perspective, all of these objects are treated as finds of equal value, namely as “artefacts,” which is to say: as traces left behind by human beings which – as in classical archaeology – allow us to make inferences about a culture and its way of life. Also referred to as “Artefacts” – the word also furnishes the film with its title – in the termini technici of film and photography are such production defects as color faults, defective resolution, image noise, etc. Precisely such “defects” are also characteristic of Gaillard’s images. “Artefacts” was filmed using an iPhone, and only later copied onto the analog and highquality 35mm cinematic format. The projection emphasizes this anachronism, along with the fragility of the cinematic material itself, which wears out and frays over a period of months through its projection as an endless loop. The perpetually repeated musical accompaniment – a brief excerpt from the “Babylon” songs of David Grey from the 1990s – underscores the artistic principal underlying this cinematic collage. The work should be regarded less as a documentary than as associative in character: as a multilayered reflection on processes of cultural erosion.

Kitty Kraus has created a pair of kinetic sculptures for the Preis der Nationalgalerie. Her material point of departure consists of handlebars from shopping carts. As isolated objects, and even more so when gripped in the hand, these heavy bars radiate power and even a certain brutality. Motors rotate the bars, heightening their potential for danger. The movements themselves extend all the way to the incalculable, the chaotic, at the same time assuming monotone, almost random traits through continuous repetition. With supermarket names like “Plus” and “Norma(l),” concepts come into play which go beyond the world of shopping, refering to modern capitalist society. The whizzing rotation of the rods may be interpreted as the undertone of a society that is perpetually in motion, and which has attained an even more accelerated tempo through the latest telecommunications media. And it is precisely invisibility that characterizes the glass works of Kitty Kraus: at first glance, one perceives the space rather than the glass objects on display; we discover the reflections appearing on their surfaces even before the precise dimensions of these transparent objects become recognizable. In this sense, they go against the grain of today’s everyday culture, oriented so strongly toward the purely “visual”. With her glass works, Kitty Kraus calls attention to more penetrating, abstract perceptual processes, including the ever growing desire for transparency on the part of society. Kitty Kraus subjects her glass objects to powerful tension, bending them – as with the 6-meter sheet for the Preis der Nationalgalerie – right up to the limit, so that once again, an element of danger is present in space. The specific forms of these glass works are derived from the human figure, and hence refer schematically to the respective beholder. All of Kitty Kraus’s works, finally, are profoundly humanistic; they allude to the finitude and fragility of human life.

PNG11_KK_LepkowskiStudios-1-1024x768

Photo: Lepkowski Studios
PNG11_KK_LepkowskiStudios--1024x768

Photo: Lepkowski Studios
PNG11_Installationsansicht_RomanMärz-2-1024x783

Photo: Roman März
PNG11_KL_Container-1024x768

Klara Lidén, Untitled (Container), 2011, collage | Courtesy the artist and Galerie Neu, Berlin

A desolate stretch of land behind the Hamburger Bahnhof; railroad tracks overgrown by tall vegetation. A building container, apparently left behind, functions as a reference to transformations either imminent or long past. In her work for this exhibition, Klara Lidén begins with isolated observations, found objects, so to speak, those encountered in the vicinity of the museum. The building container – as the artist explains in an interview – is something more than an emblem of change. For her, it is an essential symbol of Berlin – a city of open-ended potential, of continual discarding and metamorphoses. Her project for the Preis der Nationalgalerie consists, then, of a highly contradictory sculpture which is not reducible to simple explanations: a green building container, formed entirely of shrubbery and vegetation, to be planted in the courtyard of the museum for the duration of the exhibition. Its outer form is fashioned from yew trees from a tree nursery. Its inner life is the work of the artist herself: Small shrubs, especially offshoots from weeds found growing wild, which Klara Lidén discovered in the urban realm, dug up and then upgraded to the status of work of art in the precisely clipped container. No less subversive is the cinematic work which opens the exhibition in the Hamburger Bahnhof: we see the artist seated at a writing table in an austere white room, a kind of “white cube,” before she finally disappears into a trash bin before the viewer’s eyes. This incisive short film provokes, poses riddles. The grotesque qualities of Lidén’s films have been associated with the silent film aesthetic, the works of Buster Keaton for example. But our sense of bafflement goes deeper, involves an interrogation not just of the meaning of artistic existence and the mechanisms of the art market (of which art prizes are an element), but even more so of human existence as such. Everything comes to an end. What remains, as Klara Lidén makes absolutely clear, are objects: the devices and apparatuses of work, even a bushel of weeds, which occupy every culture, and in the long-term, overgrow them as well.

In his film “Never Sleep with a Strawberry in Your Mouth,” Andro Wekua conjures a kind of haunted house atmosphere. In a seaside house flooded with the light of the setting sun, human figures move in a peculiarly decelerated fashion, like marionettes or robots. Carnevalesque masks and costumes and the use of garish colors generate a surreal, fairy-tale setting. Deathly pale forms, brought to life by the piano playing of the youthful protagonist, evoke a sense of menace. The film’s architecture as well has been given an oppressive feel, and consists of a confining labyrinth of corridors and rooms. The outside penetrates this isolated world only symbolically, in the form of closed windows and lowered blinds. On the occassion of the Preis der Nationalgalerie, Andro Wekua has also created a sculpture which unites a model house and a reclining human figure by having the latter’s head vanish into the structure’s interior. As so often in Andro Wekua’s works, the associations are based on cinematic citations, and even more so on images drawn from personal memories. Wekau grew up in Sochumi, a former swank seaside paradise on the “Riviera” of the Black Sea where Stalin and Khrushchev maintained summer homes, where musicians once played white grand pianos along the vast beachfronts and where the high society of the “fraternal socialist states” gathered. The brutal civil war of 1992 – in whose wake the Wekua family too lost their land – has transformed Sochumi into a ghost town that is today cut off from both east and west. Andro Wekua: “My work is an attempt to create something that is artificially-natural – artificial figures which are somehow related to reality. Some things I can see sharply, others are perceptible only indistinctly. If someone tells me I must have acquired a specific memory by reading about it, then I’m almost prepared to believe it. These things are located along the borderline between memories and dreams – especially since they are present only as fragments.”

PNG11_AW_Strawberry1-1024x576

Andro Wekua, Never Sleep With A Strawberry In Your Mouth, 2010 | © Andro Wekua/Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York
PNG11_AW_oT-1024x768

Andro Wekua, Untitled, 2011 | © Andro Wekua/Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York

Award Winner Preis für junge Filmkunst (Award for Cinematography)

Theo Solnik with his film “Anna Pavlova lebt in Berlin”

Jury’s statement:

In his film, Theo Solnik describes the youth and party culture of post-1990 Berlin, without showing concrete events. The filmic narrative instead focuses on the fascinating figure of Anna Pavlova, a young, vital woman from Russia, who is accompanied by the camera on her constant movement through the streets, squares, and parks of the city. In her restlessness and her despairing search for just a little happiness, the main figure exudes a sense of forsakenness that on the one hand seems very authentic, and yet on the other hand is very clearly constructed. Direct contact with the camera, including dialogues with the cameraman, reveal that this purportedly documentary film shot in black and white is a conscious staging. In several ways, the levels of reality overlap with one another while the images all remain powerful. The highly emotional quality of the film is not least due to the very confident use of film technique, surprising for such a young filmmaker, with a cinematography that shifts virtuosically between a journalistic mode of portraiture and freer, more poetic forms of description. The overall aesthetic structure can be considered decisively artistic, a virtually endlessly meandering narrative of dense urban episodes that over and over again appear similar to one another.

First Jury

Mechthild Holter

Gregor Jansen

Burghart Klaußner

Chus Martínez

Christiane Meyer-Stoll

Matthias Mühling

Rein Wolfs

Second Jury

Bice Curiger

Ann Goldstein

Udo Kittelmann

Bartomeu Marí i Ribas

Britta Schmitz

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2011

Preisträger

Preis-2011_DvB_01-713x1024

Foto: David von Becker

Cyprien Gaillard

(geboren 1980 in Paris, lebt und arbeitet in Berlin)

Begründung der Jury:

Cyprien Gaillards Film „Artefacts“ ist eine eindrückliche Reflexion über den Mythos Babylon, der durch den Bezug zum Krieg im Irak eine besondere Aktualisierung erfährt. Die kraftvollen, betörenden Bilder sind bewusst so ineinander geschnitten, dass eine hypernervöse, fast hypnotische Wirkung entsteht, die unsere Aufmerksamkeit auf unsere eigene kulturelle Befindlichkeit lenkt. Cyprien Gaillard verfolgt keinen dokumentarischen Ansatz, sondern wirft durch das offene Prinzip der Montage eher Fragen auf über den Verbleib und die Erhaltung unserer Kulturen. Im Mittelpunkt seines Filmes steht die Erosion von Artefakten. Mit der von ihm gewählten stark ästhetischen Form ist der Wille verbunden, eine Tonlage und Sprache zu finden, die außerhalb der konventionellen Berichterstattung in den Medien steht und die damit unsere Wahrnehmung für andere emotionale Räume eröffnet. Cyprien Gaillard hat ein Werk aus suggestiven Bildern geschaffen, in dem das Politische das Kulturelle untrennbar verbunden ist.

Shortlist

PNG11_CG-Norman_Zoo-01-832x1024

Foto: Norman Zoo

Cyprien Gaillard

PNG11_KL_Portrait-832x1024

Klara Liden, Self Portrait with Keys to the City, 2005 | Courtesy the artist and Reena Spaulings Fine Art, New York

Klara Lidén

PNG11_KK-Portrait2-groß-832x1024

Foto: Gregor Hohenberg

Kitty Kraus

AW_NationalPortrait_photoby_Ketuta-Alexi-Meskhishvili--832x1024

Foto: Ketuta Alexi-Meskhishvili | Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York

Andro Wekua

Shortlist-Ausstellung

9. September 2011 – 8. Januar 2012
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

PNG11_CG_The-road-to-Akuf-1024x576

Cyprien Gaillard, Artefact, 2011, Film (HD Video übertragen auf 35 mm), endlos, Ton | © Cyprien Gaillard/Courtesy Sprüth Magers Berlin London
PNG11_CG_DervishGate

Cyprien Gaillard, Artefact, 2011, Film (HD Video übertragen auf 35 mm), endlos, Ton | © Cyprien Gaillard/Courtesy Sprüth Magers Berlin London

Auflösung und Zerfall sind die Folgen eines jeden kulturellen Wandels, weil jeder Umbruch mit einem Abschied von Vergangenem verbunden ist. Cyprien Gaillard hat diesen Zusammenhang in seinen bisherigen Fotografien, Filmen und Collagen anhand von Kulturen demonstriert, die gerade von massiven Veränderungsprozessen und damit auch von ebenso starken Verfallserscheinungen geprägt sind. So ist es keineswegs zufällig, dass er sich mit seinem neuen, für den Preis der Nationalgalerie entstandenen Film nun der Stadt Babylon zuwendet, die als älteste Metropole der Menschheit gelten kann, deren Zerfall schon seit Jahrtausenden währt und deren reale Relikte sich auf viele große Museen in der Welt verteilen. Filmaufnahmen vor dem historischen Ischtar Tor in Berlin erscheinen deshalb eng verknüpft mit Aufnahmen vor Ort, im stark vom Krieg gezeichneten Land Irak. Dort macht der Künstler in seinen Aufnahmen keinen Unterschied zwischen aufgelassenen Kultstätten in der Wüste und Neubauten oder Baustellen der irakischen Gegenwart. Alles sind aus seiner Sicht gleichwertige Fundstücke, „Artefakte“, also Hinterlassenschaften des Menschen, die wie in der klassischen Archäologie Rückschlüsse auf eine Kultur und deren Lebensweise erlauben. „Artefacts“, wie der Film schließlich auch heißt, werden im technischen Sprachgebrauch vor allem die Fehler bei der Foto- und Filmherstellung benannt: Farbstiche, Rasterungen, Bilderrauschen und ähnliches. Eben solche „Fehler“ kennzeichnen auch Gaillards Bilder. Bewusst wurde der Film mit dem I-Phone gedreht und erst nachträglich auf das analoge und „noble“ Kinoformat von 35mm umkopiert. Die Projektion betont diesen Anachronismus ebenso wie das fragile Filmmaterial, das im Dauerloop selbst über die Monate hinweg verschleißt und verfällt. Die dazu eingespielte, sich ebenfalls immer wiederholende Musik – ein kurzer Ausschnitt des „Babylon“-Songs von David Grey aus den 1990er Jahren – unterstreicht das gesamte künstlerische Prinzip dieser filmischen Collage. Sie ist weniger dokumentarisch als assoziativ zu begreifen: als vielschichtige Reflexion von Erosionsprozessen in der Kultur.

Kitty Kraus hat für den Preis der Nationalgalerie zwei kinetische Skulpturen geschaffen – eine Novität in ihrem bisherigen Oeuvre. Den materiellen Ausgangspunkt stellen dabei Griffstangen von Einkaufswägen dar. Als isolierte Objekte oder gar von einer Hand umfasst, strahlen die schweren Stangen Macht und eine gewisse Brutalität aus. In den Arbeiten der Künstlerin beschleunigen Motoren diese Stangen und verstärken damit das Gefährdungspotential. Die Bewegungen selbst reichen bis ins Unberechenbare, nehmen gleichzeitig in ihrer permanenten Wiederholung monotone, fast beiläufige Züge an. Mit den Supermarktnamen wie „Plus“ oder „Norma(l)“ kommen Begrifflichkeiten ins Spiel, die über die Shoppingwelt hinaus auf die moderne kapitalistische Gesellschaft verweisen, auf die Mechanismen des Konsums etwa. So ist das sirrende Rotieren der Stangen wie der Grundton einer Gesellschaft zu begreifen, die immer in Bewegung ist, die durch die neuen Telekommunikationsmedien selbst bei einem hohen Tempo angelangt ist. Die exakten Geschwindigkeiten der Arbeiten bleiben allerdings rein visuell nicht bestimmbar. Deshalb sieht die Künstlerin hier eine Parallele zum bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehr: „Kapital ist im Umlauf, es zirkuliert. Durch die Umwandlung in einen elektrischen Code wird es unsichtbar.“ Unsichtbarkeit zeichnen gerade auch die Glasarbeiten von Kitty Kraus aus: Auf den ersten Blick nimmt man zunächst eher den Raum als das ausgestellte Glas wahr, entdeckt erst die Spiegelungen im Glas, bevor man die genauen Ausmaße des transparenten Objektes erkennen kann. Die Arbeiten stehen damit quer zur heutigen, so stark auf das rein „Visuelle“ und „Optische“ ausgelegten Alltagskultur. Mit den Glasarbeiten lenkt Kitty Kraus die Aufmerksamkeit eher auf tiefer gehende, abstraktere Prozesse unserer Wahrnehmung, etwa den ständig wachsenden Wunsch der Gesellschaft nach mehr Transparenz. Kameras zum Beispiel sorgen an vielen städtischen Plätzen für eine Überwachung des öffentlichen Lebens und bleiben dabei, ähnlich wie die Gläser, fast unsichtbar. Kitty Kraus setzt ihre Gläser stark unter Spannung, biegt wie hier beim Preis der Nationalgalerie eine 6 Meter-Glasbahn bis zum Limit hoch, so dass erneut ein Moment der Gefährdung im Raum steht. Das Glas steht kurz bevor, „sich selbst zu zerstören“, wie die Künstlerin erwähnt. Die spezifische Form der Glasarbeiten hat die Künstlerin von der menschlichen Figur abgeleitet und so nehmen diese schemenhaft Bezug zum jeweiligen Betrachter auf. Letztlich sind alle Arbeiten von Kitty Kraus zutiefst humanistisch, verweisen auf die Endlichkeit und Fragilität des menschlichen Lebens.

PNG11_KK_LepkowskiStudios-1-1024x768

Foto: Lepkowski Studios
PNG11_KK_LepkowskiStudios--1024x768

Foto: Lepkowski Studios
PNG11_Installationsansicht_RomanMärz-2-1024x783

Foto: Roman März
PNG11_KL_Container-1024x768

Klara Lidén, Ohne Titel (Container), 2011, Collage | Courtesy the artist and Galerie Neu, Berlin

Ein verwahrlostes Areal hinter dem Hamburger Bahnhof, von großen Pflanzen überwucherte Gleise. Ein Baucontainer, der scheinbar zurückgelassen wurde und auf anstehende oder vergangene Veränderungen hinweist. Klara Lidén ging in ihrer Arbeit für die Ausstellung von einzelnen Beobachtungen aus, Fundstücken gewissermaßen, die sie in der Nähe des Hamburger Bahnhofs antraf. Baucontainer, erklärt die Künstlerin im Gespräch, sind mehr als Zeichen eines Wandels, sie stellen für sie ein zentrales Symbol Berlins dar – einer Stadt der offenen Potentiale, des beständigen Ausrangierens und der Metamorphosen. Ihr Projekt für den Preis der Nationalgalerie besteht daher in einer höchst widersprüchlichen und in einfachen Erklärungen auch nicht aufzulösenden Skulptur: einem grünen, ganz aus Büschen und Gewächsen geformten Baucontainer, der für die Dauer der Ausstellung im Hof des Museums fest eingepflanzt wird. Die äußere Form wurde mit Eiben aus einer Baumschule geschaffen, das Innenleben stammt von der Künstlerin selbst. Es sind kleinere Büsche, vor allem Ableger von wild wucherndem Unkraut, die Klara Lidén im Stadtraum entdeckte, ausgrub und die nun im akkurat geschnittenen Container zum Kunstwerk aufgewertet werden. Nicht weniger subversiv ist eine filmische Arbeit, mit der die Ausstellung im Hamburger Bahnhof eröffnet: man sieht die Künstlerin am Schreibtisch in einem nüchternen weißen Raum sitzen, einer Art ‚white cube’, bevor sie anschließend vor den Augen der Betrachter im Mülleimer verschwindet. Der prägnante, kurze Film irritiert, gibt Rätsel auf. Man hat das Groteske in Lidéns Filmen bereits mit der Ästhetik des alten Stummfilms, etwa jenen von Buster Keaton, in Verbindung gebracht. Aber die Verblüffung geht tiefer, hinterfragt nicht nur die Rolle des künstlerischen Daseins und die Mechanismen eines Kunstbetriebs (zu dem auch Kunstpreise zählen), sondern vor allem die menschliche Existenz. Alles hat ein Ende. Übrig bleiben, das macht Klara Lidén unmissverständlich deutlich, die Objekte: die Geräte und Apparaturen der Arbeit oder eben die Unkrautbüschel, die jede Kultur besetzen und, langfristig gesehen, auch überwuchern.

In seinem Film „Never Sleep With A Strawberry In Your Mouth“ beschwört Andro Wekua eine Art Geisterhausatmosphäre herauf. In einem vom Sonnenuntergang lichtdurchfluteten Haus am Meer bewegen sich menschliche Figuren seltsam verlangsamt wie Marionetten oder Roboter. Karnevaleske Masken und Kostüme sowie eine grelle Überzeichnung der Farben kreieren eine surreale, märchenhafte Situation. Totenblasse Gestalten, die von dem jugendlichen Hauptdarsteller beim Pianospiel zum Leben erweckt werden, lösen Momente der Bedrohung aus. Beklemmend ist gerade auch die Filmarchitektur angelegt: ein enges Labyrinth aus Gängen und Räumen. Das Außen dringt nur symbolisch, in Form von verschlossenen Fenstern und herunter gelassenen Jalousien in diese Welt der Isolation. Anlässlich des Preises der Nationalgalerie hat Andro Wekua darüber hinaus eine Skulptur geschaffen, die eine liegende menschliche Figur und das Modell eines Hauses miteinander verbindet, indem ihr Kopf im Inneren des Hauses verschwindet. Wie so oft in Andro Wekuas Arbeiten  speisen sich seine Assoziationen aus Filmzitaten und vor allem aus persönlichen Erinnerungsbildern. Wekua ist in Sochumi aufgewachsen, dem ehemaligen mondänen Badeparadies an der Riviera des Schwarzen Meeres, in dem Stalin und Chruschtschow ihre Sommersitze hatten und an dessen riesigen Strandpromenaden Pianospieler an weißen Flügeln saßen und die High Society der sozialistischen Bruderstaaten unterhielten. Der brutale Bürgerkrieg von 1992, in dessen Folge auch die Familie Wekuas das Land verließ, hat Sochumi in eine heute vom Westen und Osten gleichermaßen abgeschnittene Geisterstadt verwandelt. Andro Wekua: „Bei meiner Arbeit handelt es sich um den Versuch, etwas Künstlich-Natürliches zu kreieren – künstliche Figuren, die mit etwas Realem zu tun haben. Ich kann manche Dinge scharf sehen, während ich andere nur verschwommen wahrnehme. Wenn mir jemand sagt, dass ich mir eine Erinnerung nur angelesen habe und diese keinem wahren Erlebnis entspricht, dann bin ich fast bereit, es zu glauben. Diese Dinge befinden sich an der Grenze zwischen Erinnerung und Traum – schon weil sie nur in Fragmenten vorhanden sind.“

PNG11_AW_Strawberry1-1024x576

Andro Wekua, Never Sleep With A Strawberry In Your Mouth, 2010, Ein-Kanal-Projektion, 15 Minuten, Ton, Farbe, Soundtrack von Felix Profos | © Andro Wekua/Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York
PNG11_AW_oT-1024x768

Andro Wekua, Ohne Titel, 2011, Wachs, Holz, Metall, Stoff und andere Materialien | © Andro Wekua/Courtesy Gladstone Gallery, New York

Preisträger Preis für junge Filmkunst

Theo Solnik mit dem Film “Anna Pavlova lebt in Berlin”

Begründung der Jury:

In seinem Film beschreibt Theo Solnik die Jugend- und Partykultur des Nachwende-Berlins, ohne konkrete Ereignisse oder Veranstaltungen zu zeigen. Im Zentrum der filmischen Erzählung steht vielmehr die schillernde Figur „Anna Pavlova“, eine junge, vitale Frau aus Russland, die mit der Kamera bei ihrer permanenten Bewegung durch Straßen, Plätze, Parks begleitet wird. In ihrer Rastlosigkeit und ihrer verzweifelten Suche nach etwas Lebensglück strahlt die Protagonistin eine Verlorenheit aus, die einerseits sehr authentisch wirkt, andererseits ganz offensichtlich konstruiert ist. Eine direkte Kontaktaufnahme mit der Kamera, sogar Dialoge mit dem Kameramann entlarven den scheinbar so dokumentarischen, ganz in schwarz-weiß angelegten Film als eine bewusste Inszenierung. In mehrfacher Weise verschränken sich im Film die Wirklichkeitsebenen bei gleich bleibender Intensität der Bilder. Diese auch hohe emotionale Qualität des Films liegt nicht zuletzt in einer, für einen jungen Filmemacher beeindruckend souveränen Handhabung der technischen Mittel. Die Kameraführung allein wechselt virtuos zwischen journalistischem Porträt und freier, poetischer Umschreibung. Als ausgesprochen künstlerisch kann schließlich die ästhetische Gesamtstruktur gelten: eine schier endlos mäandernde Erzählung aus dichten, sich immer wieder ähnelnden Großstadt-Episoden.

Erste Jury

Mechthild Holter

Gregor Jansen

Burghart Klaußner

Chus Martínez

Christiane Meyer-Stoll

Matthias Mühling

Rein Wolfs

Zweite Jury

Bice Curiger

Ann Goldstein

Udo Kittelmann

Bartomeu Marí i Ribas

Britta Schmitz