Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019

© Photo: David von Becker

Award Winner

22A9345-3-681x1024

Photo: David von Becker

Pauline Curnier Jardin

(born 1980 in Marseille, lives in Berlin)

Jury statement:

After a lively discussion the jury awarded the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 to Pauline Curnier Jardin for her work not only in the shortlist exhibition here at the Hamburger Bahnhof but for her practice in its entirety.

The jury grounded its decision on the Preis der Nationalgalerie’s spirit to support the development and encouragement of an artist’s work. The jury especially appreciates Pauline Curnier Jardin’s compelling and emersive filmic and installation work. Not unlike a delirious circus, her work provides an unsettling experience based on the confusion of our time.

 

The Award Winner Exhibition takes place:

November 20, 2020 – Mai 2, 2021
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Shortlist

Pauline_Curnier_Jardin_Karim_El_Maktafi

Foto: Alexander Coggin

Pauline Curnier Jardin

SimonFujiwaraPortrait_2017_FotoMiroKuzmanovic_Kunsthaus_Bregenz--1024x1024

Simon Fujiwara

00_Flaka-Haliti_Portrait-1024x1024

© Foto: Robert Newald

Flaka Haliti

katja-novitskova-photo-Lutz-Leitmann

© Agnieszka Polska

Katja Novitskova

Shortlist Exhibition

August 16, 2019 – February 16, 2020
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Check out the exhibition booklet

PNG19_Installationsansichten_PaulineCurnierJardin_cLuca-Girardini-2-1-1024x683

Pauline Curnier Jardin, Installation view at the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin © Luca Girardini

Pauline Curnier Jardin created a stage space with her cross-border artistic approach, combining visual and narrative elements of theatre and narrative cinema. In this walk-in installation, cinematic and sculptural creation intertwined in the artist’s typical way. Her overall composition of the two films Explosion Ma Baby (2016) and the new production Qu’un Sang Impure as well as the sculptural work Peaux de Dame in the Hot Flashes Forrest (2019) created a wild mesh around desire and reproduction.

In the shortlist exhibition, Simon Fujiwara showed a compilation of four works that stem from his investigation of contemporary mass phenomena and their economic, media and socio-political aspects. The very different works made clear how much an emotional component is inherent in these phenomena. The focus was on the video installation Likeness (2018), which is dedicated to the figure of Anne Frank and her media-effective staging and instrumentalisation.

Simon_Fujiwara_C_Mathias_Voelzke-002-1024x683

Simon Fujiwara, Installation view at the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin © Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Courtesy Collection Lafayette Anticipations – Fonds de dotation Famille Moulin, Paris, Esther Schipper, Berlin and Dvir Gallery, Brussels and Tel Aviv, Foto: Mathias Völzke
Flaka_Haliti_C_Mathias_Voelzke-001-1024x683

Flaka Haliti, Installation view at the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin © Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Courtesy the artist and Deborah Schamoni, Foto: Mathias Völzke

For the exhibition, Flaka Haliti continued her two series of works Its urgency got lost in reverse (while being in constant delay) and Is it you, Joe? The artist juxtaposed two colourful robots in idleness, composed of materials from abandoned KFOR field camps in Kosovo – in other words, the discarded building blocks of a peace process – with the changeable figure of Joe, who has accompanied her since 2015 as an elusive alter ego. In the staging, which designed the entire space, the two convolutions were just as much interlocked with each other as they rubbed against each other.

Katja Novitskova became known as one of the pioneers of an artistic language called “Post-Internet Art”. For the shortlist exhibition, she created a virtuoso, multi-part and multi-layered “environment” of sculptural elements, wall paintings and projections of various kinds. Here, too, the works in the overall installation formed a common, closely interlocking structure. The works are based on Novitskova’s ongoing research into current research in biotechnology and revolve around the question of the future persistence of the organic as a component of technological processes.

1908-Kraupa-Tuskany-Zeidler3171-photo__def_image

Katja Novitskova, Installation view at the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin © Courtesy the artist, Kraupa-Tuskany Zeidler, Berlin and Sammlung Marta, Foto: Holger Niehaus

Award Winner Förderpreis für Filmkunst (Award for Cinematography)

Lucia Margarita Bauer and her film MAMAN MAMAN MAMAN

Jury statement:

In MAMAN MAMAN MAMAN Lucia Margarita Bauer tells an intensely personal story. In a playful way, she creates a documentary portrait and manages to include a surprisingly deep psychological level, in which the question of identity and alleged madness is constantly raised anew. Based on her grandmother’s personal history, she finds herself confronted with her own origins. She discovers the difficulties of life between an extended family, Alzheimer’s disease and the Second World War.

From mobile phone videos and letters, the family’s own photo collection, the family library and the Super 8 films of her grandmother, Lucia Margarita Bauer creates a fascinating, inspiring and associative montage and thereby develops her very own visual language. She convinced the jury with her sense of creativity and the combination of humour and tragedy, through which she captivates the audience. Light-footed and at the same time deeply serious, she succeeds in creating a shimmering and truthful portrait of a woman, a family, a time and a house.

First Jury

Nikola Dietrich

Doris Dörrie

Marina Fokidis

Ulrich Matthes

Bige Örer

Second Jury

Annie Fletcher

Anna-Catharina Gebbers

Udo Kittelmann

Philippe Vergne

Theodora Vischer

Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019

© Foto: David von Becker

Preisträgerin

22A9345-3-681x1024

Foto: David von Becker

Pauline Curnier Jardin

(geboren 1980 in Marseille, lebt in Berlin)

Begründung der Jury:

Nach einer lebendigen Diskussion hat die Jury den Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 an Pauline Curnier Jardin verliehen, nicht nur mit Blick auf ihren Beitrag zur Shortlist-Ausstellung hier im Hamburger Bahnhof, sondern für ihre künstlerische Praxis insgesamt.

Die Jury begründet ihre Entscheidung auf dem Geist des Preis der Nationalgalerie, eine künstlerische Praxis in ihrer Entwicklung zu fördern. Die Jury beeindruckt vor allem Pauline Curnier Jardins herausfordernde und vereinnahmende filmische und installative Sprache. Nicht ungleich einem sich im Delirium befindlichen Zirkus, eröffnet ihr Werk eine verunsichernde Erfahrung, die auf der Verwirrung unserer Zeit gründet.

 

Die Preisträgerinnen-Ausstellung findet statt:

20. November 2020 – 2. Mai 2021
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Shortlist

Pauline_Curnier_Jardin_Karim_El_Maktafi

Foto: Alexander Coggin

Pauline Curnier Jardin

SimonFujiwaraPortrait_2017_FotoMiroKuzmanovic_Kunsthaus_Bregenz--1024x1024

Simon Fujiwara

00_Flaka-Haliti_Portrait-1024x1024

© Foto: Robert Newald

Flaka Haliti

katja-novitskova-photo-Lutz-Leitmann

© Agnieszka Polska

Katja Novitskova

Shortlist-Ausstellung

16. August 2019 – 16. Februar 2020
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Zum Ausstellungs-Booklet

PNG19_Installationsansichten_PaulineCurnierJardin_cLuca-Girardini-2-1-1024x683

Pauline Curnier Jardin, Installationsansicht im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin © Luca Girardini

Pauline Curnier Jardin schuf mit ihrer grenzüberschreitenden künstlerischen Arbeitsweise, in der sich visuelle und narrative Elemente des Theaters und des Erzählkinos verbinden, einen Bühnenraum. In dieser begehbaren Installation verzahnten sich filmisches und skulpturales Schaffen in der für die Künstlerin typischen Weise. Ihre Gesamtkomposition aus den beiden Filmen Explosion Ma Baby (2016) und der Neuproduktion Qu’un Sang Impure sowie der skulpturalen Arbeit Peaux de Dame in the Hot Flashes Forrest (2019) schuf ein wildes Geflecht rund um Begehren und Reproduktion.

Simon Fujiwara zeigte in der Shortlist-Ausstellung eine Zusammenstellung von vier Werken, die seiner Untersuchung heutiger Massenphänomene und ihrer ökonomischen, medialen und gesellschaftspolitischen Aspekte entspringen. Dabei verdeutlichten die sehr unterschiedlichen Arbeiten, wie sehr diesen Phänomenen eine emotionale Komponente zu eigen ist. Im Zentrum stand die Videoinstallation Likeness (2018), die sich der Figur der Anne Frank bzw. ihrer medienwirksamen Inszenierung und Instrumentalisierung widmet.

Simon_Fujiwara_C_Mathias_Voelzke-002-1024x683

Simon Fujiwara, Installationsansicht im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin © Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Courtesy Collection Lafayette Anticipations – Fonds de dotation Famille Moulin, Paris, Esther Schipper, Berlin and Dvir Gallery, Brussels and Tel Aviv, Foto: Mathias Völzke
Flaka_Haliti_C_Mathias_Voelzke-001-1024x683

Flaka Haliti, Installationsansicht im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart - Berlin © Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Courtesy the artist and Deborah Schamoni, Foto: Mathias Völzke

Flaka Haliti setzte für die Ausstellung ihre beiden Werkserien Its urgency got lost in reverse (while being in constant delay) und Is it you, Joe? fort. Zwei farbenfrohen Robotern im Müßiggang, zusammengesetzt aus Materialien aufgegebener KFOR-Feldlager im Kosovo – also aus den ausrangierten Bausteinen eines Friedensprozesses –, setzte die Künstlerin die wandelbare Gestalt des*der Joe gegenüber, die sie seit 2015 als schwer zu greifendes Alter Ego begleitet. Dabei waren in der den gesamten Raum gestaltenden Inszenierung die beiden Konvolute genauso sehr miteinander verzahnt, wie sie sich aneinander rieben.

Katja Novitskova wurde als eine der Pionier*innen einer künstlerischen Sprache, die als „Post-Internet Art“ Bezeichnung fand, bekannt. Für die Shortlist-Ausstellung schuf sie ein virtuoses, vielteiliges und vielschichtiges „Environment“ aus skulpturalen Elementen, Wandmalerei und Projektionen verschiedener Art. Auch hier bildeten die Werke in der Gesamtinstallation ein gemeinsames, eng ineinandergreifendes Gefüge. Die Arbeiten gründen auf Novitskovas anhaltender Recherche zu aktuellen Forschungen der Biotechnologie und kreisen um die Frage des zukünftigen Fortbestehens des Organischen als Bestandteil technologischer Prozesse.

1908-Kraupa-Tuskany-Zeidler3171-photo__def_image

Katja Novitskova, Installationsansicht im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin © Courtesy the artist, Kraupa-Tuskany Zeidler, Berlin and Sammlung Marta, Foto: Holger Niehaus

Preisträgerin Förderpreis für Filmkunst

Lucia Margarita Bauer mit dem Film MAMAN MAMAN MAMAN

Begründung der Jury:

Lucia Margarita Bauer erzählt in MAMAN MAMAN MAMAN eine sehr persönliche Geschichte. Sie kreiert auf spielerische Art und Weise ein dokumentarisches Porträt und schafft es, eine überraschend tiefe psychologische Ebene einzubeziehen, in der die Frage der Identität und des „Verrücktseins“ immer wieder neu gestellt werden. Basierend auf einer wahren Geschichte bewegt sie sich auf den Spuren ihrer Großmutter, zwischen dem Leben in einer Großfamilie, der Alzheimer-Erkrankung und dem Zweiten Weltkrieg.

Aus Handyvideos und Briefen, der familieneigenen Fotosammlung, der humanistisch orientierten Familienbibliothek und den Super-8-Filmen der eigenen Großmutter schafft Lucia Margarita Bauer einen spannungsvollen, inspirierten und assoziationsreichen Schnitt und entwickelt eine eigene Bildsprache. Sie überzeugte die Jury durch ihren Sinn für Kreativität und die Kombination aus Humor und Tragik, durch die sie die Zuschauer*innen in ihren Bann zieht. Leichtfüßig und zugleich tief ernst gelingt ihr damit ein flirrendes und wahrhaftiges Porträt einer Frau, einer Familie, einer Zeit und eines Hauses.

Erste Jury

Nikola Dietrich

Doris Dörrie

Marina Fokidis

Ulrich Matthes

Bige Örer

Zweite Jury

Annie Fletcher

Anna-Catharina Gebbers

Udo Kittelmann

Philippe Vergne

Theodora Vischer