Pauline Curnier Jardin. Fat to Ashes

Pauline Curnier Jardin, winner of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019, is presenting the extensive video installation Fat to Ashes, which she produced for her first institutional solo exhibition in Germany, in the historic halls of Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin. A large-scale amphitheatre encompasses the video installation as the centre of the spectacle, and thus transformations, processions, and practised performance in ritualised excess are the content and formal attributes of Pauline Curnier Jardin’s Fat to Ashes.

Meat, skin, wax, confetti, blood, intestines, odours, senses, smoke, ritual, alcohol, excess, touch, singing, fat and ashes: these are some of the soft, rough, gentle, and coarse materials artist Pauline Curnier Jardin employs in her works. Her cinematic and installational language often adopts myth-like narratives, which she deconstructs and disrupts. Fat to Ashes combines three cinematic snapshots: a religious festival in honour of Saint Agatha; the slaughter of a pig; and the Cologne Carnival. Thereby the exhibition’s title denotes the week of excess that runs from so-called “Fat Thursday” or “Giovedi grasso” and known as “Weiberfastnacht” or “Fettdonnerstag” in German, until Ash Wednesday, which marks the day reality sets back in and Lent begins according to the Christian Calendar. Jardin shows these three spheres of activity as places of transgression and transformation which bring societal functions originating in cult rituals into the present: those of congregating together, performative display, and the exuberant abandonment of prevailing mores.

An Italian dessert, for example, which recreates the shape of a breast and is eaten on the feast day commemorating the martyrdom of Saint Agatha. The slaughter of the pig takes place far from industrial factory-farming on a traditional rural farm. The images of the Cologne Carnival, on the other hand, are full of life. Looking back at the carnival events, the festivities read like one last great episode of collective debauchery just before COVID-19 would lead to a country-wide lockdown, as people viewing the film today now know.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a publication through Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König with contributions by Sara Giannini, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Giovanna Zapperi and a conversation between Pauline Curnier Jardin and Kristina Schrei.

This exhibition is made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie, with the support of BMW. With the kind support of the Bureau des arts plastiques of the French Institute and the French Culture Minister

Pauline Curnier Jardin. Fat to Ashes
reopening – September 19, 2021

Venue
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51
10557 Berlin

Public Transportation
S+U Hauptbahnhof:
U-Bahn U55
S-Bahn S5, S7, S75
Tram M5, M8, M10
Bus TXL, 120, 123, 142, 147, 245, M41, M85, N20, N40

Opening Hours
All museums of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin are closed until further notice.

Admission
8 Euro, reduced 4 Euro
Free admission for children and young people up to the age of 18.
Book tickets online

Information and Booking
Tel.: +49 (0)30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr, 9-16 Uhr)
Fax: +49 (0)30 266 42 22 90
service@smb.museum

Social Media
www.facebook.com/preisdernationalgalerie
www.facebook.com/hamburgerbahnhof
Instagram: preisdernationalgalerie
#preisdernationalgalerie

Catalogue
tbd

Pauline Curnier Jardin. Fat to Ashes

Die Gewinnerin des Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 zeigt in der Historischen Halle des Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin die anlässlich ihrer ersten institutionellen Einzelausstellung in Deutschland entstandene raumgreifende Videoinstallation „Fat to Ashes“. Ein raumgreifendes Amphitheater umfasst die Videoinstallation als Zentrum des Spektakels und so sind Wandlung, Prozession und praktizierte Performance im ritualisierten Exzess die inhaltlichen als auch formalen Attribute von Pauline Curnier Jardins „Fat to Ashes“.

Fleisch, Haut, Wachs, Konfetti, Blut, Gedärme, Düfte, Sinne, Rauch, Ritus, Alkohol, Exzess, Berührung, Gesang, Fett und Asche: Das sind mitunter die weichen, rauen, sanften, derben Materialien, mit denen die Künstlerin Pauline Curnier Jardin in ihrer Arbeit hantiert. Ihre filmische und installative Sprache greift oftmals altertümliche, mythenhafte Erzählungen auf, die sie dekonstruiert und durchbricht. „Fat to Ashes“ verbindet drei filmische Momentaufnahmen: ein religiöses Fest zu Ehren der heiligen Agatha, die Schlachtung eines Schweins und den Kölner Karneval. Der Ausstellungstitel verweist auf eine Woche der Ausschweifung vom sogenannten „Fat Thursday“, oder „giovedì grasso“, bzw. Weiberfastnacht oder Fettdonnerstag im Deutschen, bis zum Aschermittwoch als Tag der Ernüchterung und Beginn der Fastenzeit nach christlichem Kalenderjahr. Jardin zeigt diese drei Handlungsräume als Orte der Transgression und der Verwandlung, in denen aus kultischen Bräuchen bis in die Gegenwart eine gesellschaftliche Funktion des Zusammentreffens, der performativen Zurschaustellung und der exaltierten Loslösung geltender Normen fortführt wird.

Eine italienische Süßspeise etwa, die der Form einer weiblichen Brust nachempfunden ist, wird an dem Festtag zum Gedenken des Martyriums der heiligen Agatha verspeist. Die Schlachtung des Schweins geschieht abseits industrialisierter Massentierhaltung auf einem traditionellen, ländlichen Hof. Die Bilder vom Kölner Karneval wiederum sind voller Leben. Im Rückblick auf das Karnevalgeschehen lesen sich die Feierlichkeiten wie eine letzte große kollektive Ausschweifung bevor wenig später, wie die heutigen Betrachter*innen des Videos wissen, Covid-19 zum bundesweiten Lockdown führen wird.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König mit Beiträgen von Sara Giannini, Ana Teixeira Pinto, Giovanna Zapperi und einem Gespräch zwischen Pauline Curnier Jardin und Kristina Schrei.

Die Ausstellung wird ermöglicht durch die Freunde der Nationalgalerie und gefördert durch BMW. Mit der freundlichen Unterstützung des Bureau des arts plastiques des Institut français und des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur.

Pauline Curnier Jardin. Fat to Ashes
ab Wiedereröffnung – 19. September 2021

Ausstellungsort
Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Invalidenstraße 50-51
10557 Berlin

Verkehrsverbindungen
S+U Hauptbahnhof:
U-Bahn U55
S-Bahn S5, S7, S75
Tram M5, M8, M10
Bus TXL, 120, 123, 142, 147, 245, M41, M85, N20, N40

Öffnungszeiten
Alle Museen der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin sind bis auf Weiteres geschlossen.

Eintritt
8 Euro, ermäßigt 4 Euro
Hausticket inkl. Sonderausstellungen: 14 Euro, ermäßigt 7 Euro;
freier Eintritt für Kinder und Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren
Tickets online buchen

Informationen und Buchungen
Tel.: +49 (0)30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr, 9-16 Uhr)
Fax: +49 (0)30 266 42 22 90
service@smb.museum

Social Media
www.facebook.com/preisdernationalgalerie
www.facebook.com/hamburgerbahnhof
Instagram: preisdernationalgalerie
#preisdernationalgalerie

Bildung und Vermittlung
Ein umfangreiches Bildungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm ergänzt die Ausstellung. Informationen und Termine finden Sie auf der Website www.smb.museum

Katalog
tbd