Jury

The first jury for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 consists of directors and curators active in the realm of contemporary art and is selected by Berlin’s Nationalgalerie and Freunde der Nationalgalerie. In addition, two members of the Deutsche Filmakademie are selected as member of the first jury.

The first jury met in February 2019 to select four artists from the candidates of the long list for the short list of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019. The short list will be announced on March 1, 2019.

In the summer of 2019, the first jury will convene once again to decide the winner of the Förderpreises für Filmkunst (Award for Cinematography), which will be awarded at the award ceremony in September 2019.

A second jury, consisting of internationally renowned directors and curators of contemporary art, will be announced in May 2019. It will also be selected by the Nationalgalerie together with Freunde der Nationalgalerie.

After the opening of the short list exhibition on August 15, 2019, the second jury will meet to choose the award winner from the four artists nominated: the winner of the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 will then be announced at the award ceremony.

For more on the procedure of the Preis der Nationalgalerie here.

Second Jury

On May 9, 2019 the following members of the second jury for the Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019 were announced:

PNG19_ZweiteJury_AnnieFletcher_cFergal-Phillips-2-1024x651

Photo: Fergal Phillips

Annie Fletcher is the Director of IMMA, the Irish Museum of Modern Art and is currently working towards the major commeration programme of its 30th anniversary due in 2021. Prior to joining IMMA Annie held various positions including Chief Curator at the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, tutor at de Appel, Amsterdam, the Dutch Art Institute (DAI) and the Design Academy Eindhoven, and has regularly worked with art institutions around the world including the SALT Istanbul, New Museum, New York, and L’Internationale network. In 2012 she was Curator of Ireland’s Contemporary Art biennale EVA International and is regularly called upon to sit on major International juries, including the Turner Prize in 2014 and the selection committee for the Irish Pavilion at Venice in 2016. Fletcher just opened a mid-career survey of the award-winning artist-led collective Otolith Group called Xenogenesis in the Netherlands, this large scale exhibtion will come to IMMA in 2020 and will travel extensively to the US Canada the UK and UAE.  Other exhibtions include the midcareer surveys of Qiu Zhijie, Hito Steyerl, Sheela Gowda David Malkjovic all at Van Abbemuseum. She has worked on the Museum of Arte Útil with Tania Bruguera, which opened in the autumn of 2013 at the Van Abbemuseum and developed the award-winning two-year programme Be(com)ing Dutch. She was co-founder and co-director of the rolling curatorial platform If I Can’t Dance, I Don’t Want To Be Part Of Your Revolution with Frederique Bergholtz and Tanja Elstgeest (2005-10). As a writer she has contributed to various magazines including AfterallMetropolis M and other publications.

 

PNG19_PorträtGebbers-1-757x1024

Photo: Michael Mann

Anna-Catharina Gebbers is curator for media and performance art at the Nationalgalerie at Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, where she was responsible for exhibitions of Anne Imhof (Forever Rage, 2015, and Angst II, 2016) and Julian Rosefeldt (Manifesto, 2016) as well as group exhibitions such as moving is in every direction. Environments – Installationen – Narrative Räume (2017) and the exhibition chapter Making Paradise. Places of Longing from Paul Gauguin to Tita Salina (in collaboration with Grace Samboh and Enin Supriyanto) for Hello World. Revision of a collection (2018). Coming soon: Micro Era. Media art from China (Kulturforum, 2019) and Embodied Histories – Entangled Histories (Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, MAIIAM, Chiang Mai, Galeri Nasional Indonesia, Jakarta, 2019-2021 co-curated with Gridthiya Gaweewong, Grace Samboh, Siuli Tan, June Yap). Previous exhibitions include Christoph Schlingensief’s retrospective (KW Institut für zeitgenössische Kunst, Berlin and MoMA PS1, New York, together with Klaus Biesenbach and Susanne Pfeffer, 2013-14) as well as exhibitions with artists such as Kader Attia, Felix Gonzales-Torres, Thomas Schütte, Santiago Sierra, Milica Tomić. Gebbers is also an editor at polar – Politik, Theorie, Alltag.

Udo-Kittelmann-2016-©SPK-SMB-Berlin-Foto-Juliane-Eirich-768x1024

Photo: Juliane Eirich

Udo Kittelmann has been the director of Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin since 2008. In his many years as curator and director, his work has been shaped, in addition to institutionally defined approaches to art, by the determination to consistently call into question the practice of curating. This process has not been confined to aesthetic dimensions, but is twinned with an awareness of specific sociopolitical contexts. His recent projects included Anne Imhof’s Angst II (2016) and Adrian Piper’s The Probable Trust Registry. The Rules of the Game #1‒3 (2017), both Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, George Condo. Confrontation (2016), Museum Berggruen – Staatliche Museen zu Berli, The Boat Is Leaking. The Captain Lied (2017), with Alexander Kluge, Thomas Demand, and Anna Viebrock, Fondazione Prada, Venice, as well as Hello World. Revising a Collection (2018), Flying Steps & OSGEMEOS Interpret Mussorgsky’s “Pictures at an Exhibition” (2019), and Andreas Mühe. Mischpoche (2019), Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin.

PNG19_ZweiteJury_PhilippeVergne_cJoaquimNorte

Photo: Joaquim Norte

Philippe Vergne is Director of Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto. He was director of The Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles (MOCA) from March 2014 to September 2018. Prior to his appointment at MOCA, Vergne served for five years as director of the Dia Art Foundation, New York. Prior to leading the Dia Foundation, Vergne held leadership roles as Deputy Director and Chief Curator at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, where he worked for over a decade organizing more than 25 international exhibitions as well as artist residencies and the Herzog & de Meuron facility expansion; and as Director of the Musée d’art Contemporain (MAC) in Marseille, France. Since 1992 Vergne has organized and curated monographic, group and thematic exhibitions at major institutions around the world including, among others for Carl André, Yves Klein, Huang Yong Ping and Kara Walker and in 2006, Vergne co-curated the Whitney Biennial with Chrissie Iles. Vergne has edited and contributed essays to numerous books and catalogues, and has written for major art magazines. In 2014, Vergne was awarded the Légion d’honneur in recognition of his 24 years of service to the arts. Vergne was also named chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres by the French Government in 2004.

PNG19_ZweiteJury_TheodoraVischer_cMischaChristen-807x1024

Photo: Mischa Christen

Theodora Vischer has been a curator of collections and exhibitions since 1992 and is a member of several expert committees. From 2001 to 2010 she was the founding Director of the Schaulager in Münchenstein/Basel. Starting in 2011 she has been Senior Curator at the Fondation Beyeler in Basel. Since the 1990s Vischer has curated exhibitions with artists such as Tacita Dean, Robert Gober, Elizabeth Peyton, Dieter Roth or Andrea Zittel, and in recent years with Marlene Dumas, Wolfgang Tillmans, Roni Horn and Tino Sehgal. She is the editor and author of numerous publications.

First Jury

Nikola-Dietrich-29Heide-Prange-682x1024

Foto: Heide Prange

Nikola Dietrich is an art historian and curator, and since recently appointed director of Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne. She was head curator at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Basel from 2008-2013, where she curated survey exhibitions of Henrik Olesen, Hilary Llyod, Rodney Graham, Monica Bonvicini / Tom Burr, Tim Rollins & K.O.S., Robert Gober, as well as the exhibition Tell it to my heart. Collected by Julie Ault, among many others. She was curator at Portikus in Frankfurt from 2004-2007, where she realized a large number of exhibitions accompanied by publications, among them projects with Francis Alys, John Baldessari, Judith Hopf, Paulina Olowska and Bonnie Camplin.
Since 2014 she is also co-editor of Starship Magazine, published in Berlin.

DoerrieDoris13Bothor-1024x679

Foto: Matthias Bothor

Doris Dörrie is a writer and filmmaker. After studies in California and New York, the native Hanoverian studied at the Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in Munich (HFF Munich) from 1975 to 1978. Her breakthrough as a director came in 1985 with the cinema surprise Männer. Since then she has produced numerous other cinema, theatre and opera works, including Bin ich schön? (1998), Nackt (2002), Kirschblüten – Hanami (2008), Mozart’s Don Giovanni at the Hamburg State Opera (2011) and currently Kirschblüten und Dämonen (2019). In addition to her work as a director, Dörrie has been teaching as a professor at the HFF Munich since 1997, as head of the chair of Creative Writing since 2009, and is the author of numerous novels and stories. Her 23 book publications to date include the children’s book series Lotte and Mimi and, most recently, the youth novel In einem fremden Wald (2017). Among many other awards, Doris Dörrie has received the German Film Prize (1986, among others), the Bavarian Film Prize (1998, among others), the Grimme Prize (2011) and the Federal Cross of Merit (1996).

PNG19_Bild_MarinaFokidis-780x1024

Foto:

Marina Fokidis is a curator, writer and director of South as a State of Mind journal. She is the founder of South as a State of Mind, a bi-annual art and culture magazine launched in 2012, and Kunsthalle Athens, of which she is also the artistic director. Fokidis has headed the artistic office of documenta 14 in Athens and has served as curatorial advisor to documenta 14 in Athens since 2015. She was co-curator of the third Thessaloniki Biennale for Contemporary Art (2011), curator of the Greek Pavilion at the 51st Venice Biennale (2003) and co-curator of the first Tirana Biennale (2001). In addition to her curatorial activities, Marina Fokidi has lectured at the Berlin University of the Arts (2017) and numerous other institutions.

Ulrich-Matthes-by-Privat-1024x768

Foto: privat

Ulrich Matthes was born in Berlin, where he studied acting in the early 1980s under Else Bongers while pursuing a degree in German and English literature. His first theatrical engagements were at the United City Stages of Krefeld and Mönchengladbach, Düsseldorf’s Playhouse and the Bavarian State Theatre. In 1988 Matthes joined Munich’s Kammerspiele and from 1992 onwards he was a leading actor at the Schaubühne am Lehniner Platz in Berlin. Since the 2004/2005 season Matthes has been a member of the Deutsches Theater ensemble. Matthes has also appeared in numerous films, including Tom Tykwer’s “Winter Sleepers” and Volker Schlöndorff’s “The Ninth Day”. For his role in the TV movie “Tatort: Im Schmerz geboren” he was awarded the Grimme Prize and the Goldene Kamera Prize as Best Actor national. For his performance in “Bornholmer Strasse” he was awarded the Prize of the German Television Academy in 2015. In 2017 he played the main role in the award-winning movie “Fremder Feind” directed by Rick Ostermann which is nominated for the Grimme Prize this year. Since 2012 he is the director of the Performing Arts Section of the Academy of Arts, Berlin.

Bige-Orer-_-Portrait-_-300-dpi-_-21-734x1024

Foto: Muhsin Akgun

Bige Örer is currently the Director of the Istanbul Biennial. Örer came aboard on the Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts in 2003 and worked in the coordination of cultural and artistic projects until she was appointed director to the Istanbul Biennial in 2008. Since 2009, she has been the advisor of the Pavilion of Turkey at the International Art Exhibition of la Biennale di Venezia. She has acted as a consultant and a jury member for a number of international cultural and artistic projects as well as an independent expert for the European Union. Bige Örer’s breadth of activity embraces both the artistic and the academic fields. She was the co-author of the children’s book A Colourful Journey In A Time Machine: Istanbul Biennials for Children. She has also been teaching, between 2011 and 2013, courses at the Istanbul Bilgi University. Since March 2013, she is the vice-president of the International Biennial Association. She is in the editorial board of the publication of IBA, titled PASS.

Jury

Im Februar 2019 traf sich die erste Jury für den Preis der Nationalgalerie 2019. Aus den zahlreichen für die Longlist vorgeschlagenen Künstler*innen wählte sie in intensiven Gesprächen vier Positionen aus, die sie als wichtige und wegweisende Akteure in der gegenwärtigen künstlerischen Landschaft erachtet. Diese vier Nominierten wurden am 1. März 2019 um 22 Uhr im Rahmen der öffentlichen Shortlist-Party im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin bekannt gegeben. Ihre gemeinsame Shortlist-Ausstellung mit aktuellen Werken wurde am 15. August 2019 ebendort eröffnet.

Eine zweite Jury wird aus den vier nominierten Künstler*innen die*den diesjährige*n Preisträger*in auswählen und in einer festlichen Veranstaltung am 12. September 2019 auszeichnen. Ebenfalls an diesem Abend wird die Nationalgalerie gemeinsam mit der Deutschen Filmakademie auch den Förderpreis für Filmkunst verleihen, über den die oben genannte Jury in einem zweiten Treffen im Juli 2019 entscheiden hat. Mehr zum Procedere des Preis der Nationalgalerie erfahren Sie hier.

Zweite Jury

Am 9. Mai 2019 wurden die Mitglieder der zweiten Jury bekannt gegeben, die im Herbst dieses Jahres aus den vier nominierten Künstler*innen den*die Gewinner*in auswählt. Zur zweiten Jury gehören:

PNG19_ZweiteJury_AnnieFletcher_cFergal-Phillips-1024x651

Foto: Fergal Phillips

Annie Fletcher ist Direktorin des IMMA – Irish Museum of Modern Art und bereitet momentan den 30. Jahrestag des Museums 2021 vor. Zuvor hatte Fletcher verschiedene Positionen inne, unter anderem als Chief Curator am Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven, als Tutor bei de Apel, Amsterdam, am Dutch Art Institute und an der Design Academy Eindhoven. Sie hat für internationale Kunstinstitutionen wie SALT Istanbul, das New Museum, New York und das Netzwerk L’Internationale gearbeitet. 2012 war Fletcher Kuratorin der EVA International, der irischen Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst. Sie ist regelmäßig Teil internationaler Jurys, so 2014 für den Turner Prize und 2016 als Mitglied des Auswahlkomitees für den irischen Pavillon in Venedig. Annie Fletcher hat zahlreiche Ausstellungen kuratiert, darunter mit der Otolith Group, Qiu Zhijie, Hito Steyerl, Sheela Gowda und David Malkjovic jeweils im Van Abbemuseum. Daneben realisierte sie Projekte wie das Museum of Arte Util am Van Abbemuseum (2013) zusammen mit Tania Bruguera, das zweijährige Programm Be(com)ing Dutch und das Langzeitprojekt If I Can’t Dance, I Don’t Want To Be Part Of Your Revolution zusammen mit Frederique Bergholtz und Tanja Elstgeest (2005-10). Annie Fletcher schreibt außerdem regelmäßig für Magazine wie AfterallMetropolis M und andere Publikationen.

PNG19_PorträtGebbers-757x1024

Foto: Michael Mann

Anna-Catharina Gebbers ist Kuratorin für Medien- und Performancekunst an der Nationalgalerie im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, wo sie Ausstellungen von Anne Imhof (Forever Rage, 2015, und Angst II, 2016) und Julian Rosefeldt (Manifesto, 2016) verantwortete sowie Gruppenausstellungen wie moving is in every direction. Environments – Installationen – Narrative Räume (2017) und das Ausstellungskapitel Making Paradise. Places of Longing from Paul Gauguin to Tita Salina  (in Zusammenarbeit mit Grace Samboh und Enin Supriyanto) für Hello World. Revision einer Sammlung (2018). Demnächst: Micro Era. Medienkunst aus China (Kulturforum, 2019) und Embodied Histories – Entangled Histories (Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, MAIIAM, Chiang Mai, Galeri Nasional Indonesia, Jakarta, 2019-2021 co-kuratiert mit Gridthiya Gaweewong, Grace Samboh, Siuli Tan, June Yap). Zu den bisherigen Ausstellungen zählen Christoph Schlingensiefs Retrospektive (KW Institut für zeitgenössische Kunst, Berlin und MoMA PS1, New York, zusammen mit Klaus Biesenbach und Susanne Pfeffer, 2013–14) sowie Ausstellungen mit Künstlern wie Kader Attia, Felix Gonzales-Torres, Thomas Schütte, Santiago Sierra, Milica Tomić. Gebbers ist außerdem Redakteurin bei polar – Politik, Theorie, Alltag.

Udo-Kittelmann-2016-©SPK-SMB-Berlin-Foto-Juliane-Eirich-768x1024

Udo Kittelmann, Foto: Juliane Eirich

Udo Kittelmann ist seit 2008 Direktor der Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin. Seine langjährige Arbeit als Kurator und Museumsdirektor ist davon geprägt, neben dem institutionellen Umgang mit der Kunst die kuratorische Praxis immer wieder aufs Neue zu hinterfragen. Diese Auseinandersetzung beschränkt sich nicht auf ästhetische Dimensionen, sondern verstärkt sich mit einem Bewusstsein für den jeweiligen soziopolitischen Kontext. Zu seinen jüngsten Projekten gehören Anne Imhofs Angst II (2016) und Adrian Pipers The Probable Trust Registry. The Rules of the Game #1‒3 (2017) im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, George Condo. Confrontation (2016) im Museum Berggruen – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin und The Boat Is Leaking. The Captain Lied (2017) mit Alexander Kluge, Thomas Demand und Anna Viebrock in der Fondazione Prada, Venedig, sowie Hello World. Revision einer Sammlung (2018), das Projekt Flying Steps & OSGEMEOS inszenieren Mussorgskys „Bilder einer Ausstellung“ (2019), und Andreas Mühe. Mischpoche (2019) im Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin.

PNG19_PorträtVergne

Philippe Vergne, Foto: Joaquim Norte

Philippe Vergne ist seit 2019 Direktor des Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art in Porto. Von 2014 bis 2018 war er Direktor des Museum of Contemporary Art in Los Angeles (MOCA). Davor fungierte Vergne fünf Jahre lang als Direktor der Dia Art Foundation in New York, außerdem als Deputy Director und Chief Curator am Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, wo er mehr als 25 internationale Ausstellungen, Residencies und die Gebäudeerweiterung durch Herzog & de Meuron realisierte, sowie als Direktor des Musée d’Art Contemporain (MAC) in Marseille. Seit 1992 organisiert und kuratiert Vergne Einzelausstellungen, Gruppenausstellungen und thematische Ausstellungen, unter anderem zu Carl André, Yves Klein, Huang Yong Ping und Kara Walker sowie 2006 als Co-Kurator zusammen mit Chrissie Iles die Whitney Biennale. Vergne hat als Herausgeber und Beiträger an zahlreichen Büchern und Katalogen mitgewirkt und für wichtige Kunstzeitschriften geschrieben. 2014 wurde Philippe Vergne die Légion d’honneur in Anerkennung seines 24-jährigen Engagements für die Kunst verliehen. Die Französische Regierung hat ihn außerdem 2004 zum Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres ernannt.

Theodora-Vischer_komp-807x1024

Theodora Vischer, Foto: Mischa Christen

Dr. Theodora Vischer ist seit 1992 als Kuratorin von Sammlungen und Ausstellungen aktiv und hat Einsitz in diversen Fachgremien. 2001 bis 2010 war sie Gründungsdirektorin des Schaulagers in Münchenstein/Basel. Seit 2011 ist sie Senior Curator an der Fondation Beyeler in Basel. Vischer kuratiert seit den 1990er Jahren Ausstellungen mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern wie Tacita Dean, Robert Gober, Elizabeth Peyton, Dieter Roth oder Andrea Zittel, oder in den letzten Jahren mit Marlene Dumas, Wolfgang Tillmans, Roni Horn und Tino Sehgal. Sie ist Herausgeberin und Autorin von zahlreichen Publikationen.

Erste Jury

Nikola-Dietrich-29Heide-Prange-682x1024

Foto: Heide Prange

Nikola Dietrich ist Kunsthistorikerin und Kuratorin. Seit 2018 ist sie Direktorin des Kölnischen Kunstvereins, nachdem sie von 2008 bis 2013 die Leitung des Museums für Gegenwartskunst Basel innehatte. Dort hat sie unter anderem Ausstellungen von Henrik Olesen, Hilary Lloyd, Rodney Graham, Monica Bonvicini / Tom Burr, Tim Rollins & K.O.S., Robert Gober sowie die Ausstellung Tell it to my heart. Collected by Julie Ault kuratiert. Von 2004 bis 2007 war sie Kuratorin am Portikus in Frankfurt, wo sie zahlreiche Ausstellungen und begleitende Publikationen realisiert hat, darunter Projekte mit Francis Alys, John Baldessari, Judith Hopf, Paulina Olowska und Bonnie Camplin. Nikola Dietrich ist seit 2014 außerdem Mitherausgeberin des in Berlin verlegten Starship Magazins.

DoerrieDoris13Bothor-1024x679

Foto: Matthias Bothor

Doris Dörrie ist Schriftstellerin und Filmemacherin. Nach Studienaufenthalten in Kalifornien und New York studierte die gebürtige Hannoveranerin von 1975 bis 1978 an der Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film in München (HFF München). Der Durchbruch als Regisseurin gelang ihr 1985 mit dem Kinoüberraschungserfolg Männer. Seitdem sind zahlreiche weitere Kino-, Theater- und Opernarbeiten entstanden, darunter Bin ich schön? (1998), Nackt (2002), Kirschblüten – Hanami (2008), Mozarts Don Giovanni an der Hamburger Staatsoper (2011) sowie aktuell Kirschblüten und Dämonen (2019). Neben ihrer Tätigkeit als Regisseurin unterrichtet Dörrie seit 1997 als Professorin an der HFF München, seit 2009 als Leiterin des Lehrstuhls Creative Writing, und ist Autorin zahlreicher Romane und Erzählungen. Zu ihren bislang 23 Buchveröffentlichungen zählen unter anderem die Kinderbuchreihen Lotte und Mimi sowie zuletzt der Jugendroman In einem fremden Wald (2017). Doris Dörrie wurde neben vielen anderen Auszeichnungen mit dem Deutschen Filmpreis (u.a. 1986), dem Bayerischen Filmpreis (u.a. 1998), dem Grimme-Preis (2011) und dem Bundesverdienstkreuz (1996) geehrt.

PNG19_Bild_MarinaFokidis-780x1024

Foto:

Marina Fokidis ist Kuratorin, Schriftstellerin und Herausgeberin der Zeitschrift South as a State of Mind. Sie ist Gründerin des 2012 ins Leben gerufenen Magazins South as a State of Mind, einem zweimal im Jahr erscheinenden Kunst- und Kulturmagazin, und der Kunsthalle Athena, deren künstlerische Leitung sie ebenfalls übernommen hat. Fokidis hat das künstlerische Büro der documenta 14 in Athen geleitet und war ab 2015 als kuratorische Beraterin der documenta 14 in Athen tätig. Sie war unter anderem Co-Kuratorin der dritten Thessaloniki Biennale for Contemporary Art (2011), Kuratorin des Griechischen Pavillons auf der 51. Biennale von Venedig (2003) sowie Co-Kuratorin der ersten Tirana Biennale (2001). Neben ihrer kuratorischen Tätigkeit hatte Marina Fokidis Lehraufträge an der Universität der Künste Berlin (2017) und zahlreichen anderen Einrichtungen.

Ulrich-Matthes-by-Privat-1024x768

Foto: privat

Ulrich Matthes wurde in Berlin geboren, wo er in den frühen 1980er-Jahren Schauspielunterricht bei Else Bongers nahm sowie Deutsche und Englische Literatur studierte. Erste Theatererfahrungen sammelte er am Theater Krefeld und Mönchengladbach, am Düsseldorfer Schauspielhaus und am Bayerischen Staatsschauspiel. 1988 wurde Matthes Ensemblemitglied an den Münchner Kammerspielen, ab 1992 spielte er Hauptrollen an der Berliner Schaubühne und seit der Spielzeit 2004/2005 ist er Mitglied im Ensemble des Deutschen Theaters in Berlin. Neben seiner Theatertätigkeit war Matthes in zahlreichen Filmproduktionen zu sehen, darunter Tom Tykwers Winterschläfer und Volker Schlöndorffs Der neunte Tag. Für seine Rolle im Fernsehfilm Im Schmerz geboren aus der Tatort-Reihe wurden ihm 2015 der Grimme-Preis und die Goldene Kamera in der Kategorie Bester Schauspieler national verliehen. Im selben Jahr wurde Matthes für seine Rolle in der Fernsehproduktion Bornholmer Straße mit dem Preis der Deutschen Akademie für Fernsehen ausgezeichnet. 2017 spielte er die Hauptrolle in Rick Ostermanns Film Fremder Feind, mit der er erneut für den Grimme-Preis nominiert war. Von 2012 bis 2017 war Matthes außerdem Direktor der Sektion Darstellende Kunst an der Akademie der Künste in Berlin.

Bige-Orer-_-Portrait-_-300-dpi-_-21-734x1024

Foto: Muhsin Akgun

Bige Örer ist seit 2008 Direktorin der Biennale Istanbul. Zuvor war sie ab 2003 Mitglied der Istanbul Foundation for Culture and Arts, wo sie an der Koordination von Kultur- und Kunstprojekten beteiligt war. Seit 2009 verantwortet Örer den türkischen Pavillon auf der Biennale di Venezia. Sie war zudem als Beraterin und Jurymitglied für zahlreiche internationale Kultur- und Kunstprojekte sowie als Expertin für die Europäische Union tätig. Neben ihrer kuratorischen Tätigkeit ist Örer Co-Autorin des Kinderbuches A Colourful Journey In A Time Machine: Istanbul Biennials for Children. Seit März 2013 ist Örer zudem Vizepräsidentin der International Biennial Association sowie Mitherausgeberin von deren Publikation PASS.