The Preis der Nationalgalerie was established by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie in 2000. Since 2000, the Preis honours important young positions in international art and has been awarded for the tenth time in 2019. The award winners and nominees have since been among the defining protagonists of contemporary art. The Förderpreis für Filmkunst was first presented in 2011 and in 2015 will be awarded for the third time.

Since 2013, the Preis der Nationalgalerie is no longer associated with prize money, but with a solo exhibition at one of the Nationalgalerie’s locations in the following year. The size and the place of the project will be developed in collaboration with the artist. A publication will accompany the solo exhibition.


The nominated artists for Preis der Nationalgalerie 2000: Christian Jankowski, Katharina Grosse, Dirk Skreber and Olafur Eliasson

Year by Year

Preis der Nationalgalerie 2017

Sol Calero, Iman Issa, Jumana Manna, Agnieszka Polska
Award winner: Agnieszka Polska

Preis der Nationalgalerie 2015

Christian Falsnaes, Florian Hecker, Anne Imhof, Slavs and Tatars
Award winner: Anne Imhof

Preis der Nationalgalerie 2013

Kerstin Brätsch, Mariana Castillo Deball, Simon Denny, Haris Epaminonda
Award winner: Mariana Castillo Deball

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2011

Cyprien Gaillard, Kitty Kraus, Klara Lidén, Andro Wekua
Award winner: Cyprien Gaillard

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2009

Keren Cytter, Omer Fast, Annette Kelm, Danh Vo
Award winner: Omer Fast

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2007

Jeanne Faust, Ceal Floyer, Damían Ortega, Tino Sehgal
Award winner: Ceal Floyer

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2005

John Bock, Monica Bonvicini, Angela Bulloch, Anri Sala
Award winner: Monica Bonvicini

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2002

Tacita Dean, Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset, Maria Eichhorn, Daniel Richter
Award winner: Michael Elmgreen & Ingar Dragset

Preis der Nationalgalerie für junge Kunst 2000

Olafur Eliasson, Katharina Grosse, Christian Jankowski, Dirk Skreber
Award winner: Dirk Skreber